Press Office contacts

The press office responds to press enquiries from journalists about KCC services and policies between 8am and 6pm.

We can arrange TV, newspaper, magazine and radio interviews with Cabinet, Lead Members and senior officers.

If you cannot get through to a specific press officer, call 03000 418080.

The duty press officer outside of office hours is Murray Evans on 07834 051150

Lucy Mayor (Communications Office Manager) – CORPORATE 
Includes: Democratic, legal and information services, finance, devolution, HR, economic development including broadband, the Chairman’s Office, the Lord Lieutenant, military and Trading Standards.
03000 416421 or 07850 907407
lucy.mayor@kent.gov.uk

 

Murray Evans – EDUCATION AND COMMUNITIES
Includes: Schools and adult education, libraries, sports and culture, travellers and Coroners’ courts,
Also covers the No Use Empty Scheme, Kent Scientific Services and the Police and Crime Panel.
03000 416071 or 07834 051150
murray.evans@kent.gov.uk

 

Justine Wingate – ADULT SOCAL CARE, CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE
Includes: social services for children, including unaccompanied asylum-seeking children, fostering, adoption and safeguarding issues and blue badges.
Also covers the Film Office.
03000 418101 or 07540 670417
Justine.Wingate@kent.gov.uk

 

Ellis Stephenson – ENVIRONMENT, TRANSPORT AND WASTE
Includes: Highways, roadworks, potholes, Kent Travel Saver Card, road safety, flooding and drainage, planning and environment teams, delivery of new major transport schemes, household waste and recycling sites,
Also covers rights of way and country parks. 
03000 419089 or 07738 860726
ellis.stephenson@kent.gov.uk 

 

Hayley Buery – COVID, WINTER HEALTH
Includes: Outbreak enquiries.
03000 418535
Hayley.Buery@kent.gov.uk

 

Gemma Smith – PUBLIC HEALTH CAMPAIGNS
Includes: includes One You Kent and smoking, alcohol misuse and healthy weight; Release the Pressure, Every Mind Matters and community mental health; sexual health and severe weather.
03000 416699
gemma.smith@kent.gov.uk

 

Scarlett Elworthy – EU 
Includes: Kent Resilience Forum planning and response plus post-Brexit import and export trading arrangements.
03000 411873 or 07971 950880

Scarlett.Elworthy@kent.gov.uk